Illustration Friday: Peace (version 2)

Peace 2

I wasn’t very happy with my last piece so I painted a new one. This is based on a photo my husband took of myself and my older daughter when she was three days old. I was going to add some details in colored pencil but decided in the end that it was better off all gouache.

While I was painting, I remembered a song I learned in college called “All Through the Night.”

Sleep my child and peace attend thee,
All through the night
Guardian angels God will send thee,
All through the night
Soft the drowsy hours are creeping
Hill and vale in slumber sleeping,
I my loving vigil keeping
All through the night.

Leave a Reply

